My first prints

I know I haven’t posted in a while.  Sometimes, that’s just the way it goes.

I haven’t been carving as much as usual.  It seems that there are too many things to do in the summer.  I am not complaining.  I enjoy the change of activities in the same way that I enjoy living in a place where we experience 4 seasons.  Just when you grow tired of life’s occasional monotony, the next chapter begins.  I can dig it.

I finished my faces a while back.  I gave a set to my “secret pal”, Blackvelvetrav.  She was kind enough to blog about them.  Her words were very kind!  If you would like to see the whole set as well as her super awesome blog, please click HERE.

I have been starting to create some larger prints.  So far, I have completed two of them.  I tried linoleum, but I wasn’t terribly impressed.  Although it didn’t seem terribly difficult to carve, I couldn’t figure out a satisfactory image transfer technique.  I tried OZ carving block from stampeaz (an awesome place to order stamping supplies).  It wasn’t my favorite to carve.  It is quite durable and you can get very detailed images.  However, my hands just aren’t up to the task of using this material for larger images.  It takes a good deal more effort to carve since the material is a bit tougher.  It definitely has it’s uses though.  I finally settled on using large pieces of “pink”.  It was the most fun to carve and I got the best transfers.

peasprint

This is my first print.  It is approximately 5″x7″.  I got the image from another wonderful blog.  I used the image with her permission.  I exchanged her a copy of the print.  You can see her awesome blog HERE.

peacockprint

This was my second print.  I got the original image for this one on a site that has “free” photos for artists to use.  This one is approximately 5″x5″.

If anyone is interested in a print please let me know.  They are printed in limited runs of 20. They are $10 each and they are printed with block printing ink on archival paper.  I can also make greeting cards of these images.  Greeting cards are a cropped version of the print on cardstock using regular ink and they come with a handmade envelope.  They are $4 each.

I can also carve custom images.  If you have a photo that you would like turned into a block printed image, please let me know.  If it is an image that I can use to make a whole run, the custom print will be free.  🙂

Thanks for reading my blog!

One thought on “My first prints

Leave a Reply

