HUGE spoiler

I started a large project this weekend.  I am feeling inspired by faces.  I have been searching endlessly for interesting faces to carve and make cards with.  This has morphed into a 12 LTC/traditional letterbox series of the world’s faces.  I have only carved 4 so far (in three days!).  I decided I had to share a few of the cards.  I am super proud of how these are turning out.  I took some photos of faces and plugged them in to a website that makes stencils.  You can adjust them to make them look the way you want.  I like to play with the threshold option.

The cards are stamped on watercolor backgrounds.  The Amazonian Boy and Icelandic Boy both have some gesso highlighting.  It’s hard to tell in the photo, but I lightened the background where I stamped to help the boy show up against the background.

Here is what I have so far.  I won’t post the rest so they can stay a surprise.  🙂

 people

11023519_916569488387730_2426720241125121091_n

4 thoughts on “HUGE spoiler

    1. Thanks! I was planning on using one for the striking faces tracker. I was thinking maybe the green one because of his eyes. I just carved an Anatolian man. He took forever (more wrinkles), but he looks like someone I would want to meet. Kind eyes and a smile. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

